Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question for Current and Former Cast Members - Disneyland Visits on Your Days Off

This question kind of dovetails with a couple other threads that are out there now, for which I apologize, but I’m new here, and I haven’t quite figured out how everything works. This is a something I’ve been wondering for quite awhile.

When I graduated from high school a long time ago (ok, a long, long time ago ), I seriously thought about applying for a job at Disneyland. However, after much consideration, I made the decision not to, because I was afraid that it would become like any other “job”, and that Disneyland would lose that “magic” I had known as a kid growing up (and still experience now). I’m sure as a cast member, you have the same types of problems that the rest of us do in our jobs: scheduling issues; managers, supervisors, and co-workers you might not get along with; as well as obnoxious guests, and guests who do really stupid things. And you are exposed to the “not so glamorous” backstage areas of the park (which I find extremely fascinating on occasion, but which could become rather routine and not so interesting if exposed to them on a regular basis).

I’m curious if any of you current cast members (or former cast members when you were working at Disneyland) ever have a problem feeling that “Disney Magic” when you visit the park as a “guest” during your off-work time. Or, has working at Disneyland enhanced your “guest” experience? How frequently do you visit Disneyland on your days off?

Thanks for your input! I look forward to meeting you guys on July 17th!

• insufferable know-it-all

It is different. Not bad, just different.