• Higitus Figitus

Into the Wild- What did you think?

Hey! just finished reading "into the wild" for my school's summer reading, and was wondering what everyone thought of the book and the character Chris McCandless. I thought it was a very well-written story and it seemed like the author answered all my questions(for a change!)
    when i thought Chris probably had planned to commit suicide while out in the wild- the author not only gave proof that Chris did NOT, he also gave an explanation for what was most likely going through Chris's mind during his adventures.
    i also loved chris as a character- despite his many flaws, he was ostensibly a sincere and likable individual, reminding me a lot of Phineas from A Seperate Peace.

Thoughts?
    “If you live to be 100, I hope I live to be 100 minus 1 day, so I never have to live without you.”

• MiceChat Moderator
    • I'm back! Sorta...

Re: Into the Wild- What did you think?

First off, as a teacher, I commend you on ACTUALLY reading one those books recommended over the summer. I have read all three of the books by Jon Kraksomething (can't remember the spelling) and found him to be an excellent author.

You have to remember, he is a reporter...so anticipating and then answering questions tends to be part of his writings. However, also note, much of that specific text is speculation. The author never met the young man; he can only guess what was on his mind.

But, like yourself, I tend agree...yes, the author's speculations are very, very good.

The movie? I wasn't that impressed.

Into Thin Air is his second, about a failed attempt of climbing Mt. Everest and his third book, well, I'm not sure you'll enjoy. It's call "Under the Banner of Heaven." It is a bit of a treaty about how people take religion and use it to their own ends--and how one man bent the rules when his brother's wife wouldn't be 'fundamentally Mormon."

It's a bit disturbing; almost on the True Crime genre.

What else did you read this summer?