• A Weather Eye Open

My Fabulous Art Teacher!

I've been bursting to tell you guys this news since I started learning it a few weeks ago, and now I've finally asked permission to share a wonderful story!

My Drawing 1 instructor Paula Gray used to work for Disneyland, and as soon as I overheard this, I picked her brain about what she did there, how she got to work there, etc, etc.

She told me this wonderful story: when she was a little girl, her family didn't have a lot of money, so her mother volunteered to run a branch of the library in their home (they lived out in a rural area). She would spend all this time looking through the books. She once found a book about the film animation of Walt Disney (this was still a newish thing at the time), and in it there was a picture of a man looking over a portfolio of art work. She used to look at it and wonder how you would get into such a business, where that man would browse your portfolio and you would make artwork for things like animated films. Even as a little girl, she wanted to be in that studio, doing these wonderful new things, and the "behind the scenes" type photo of that man symbolized it for her.

Flash forward to her years in art school: she was in the middle of a studio class when someone came in and asked "does anyone here need a job?" so she raised her hand and was handed a flyer. She didn't know what job it was, but she was told to take her portfolio to the address on the paper. And what do you know, she got the job working (officially as a model maker, but really doing everything imaginable) with the Disney Imagineers for Disneyland.