Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

• Disneyland 1st, then food

Disneyland Jewelry made with lead...

What is up with this? My girls love to wear their jewelry, but now I won't buy it for them. I'm no lead expert, but this scares me.

• No bacon; sausage.

Re: Disneyland Jewelry made with lead...

Quote Originally Posted by luvindsnylnd
    What is up with this? My girls love to wear their jewelry, but now I won't buy it for them. I'm no lead expert, but this scares me.
    There was a manufacturing problem that led (no pun intended) to some Disney merchandise to have lead levels that were slightly above the threshold for needing a prop 65 warning. However, that threshold is EXTREMELY low. The prop covers several different chemicals, so it changes somewhat, but the basic rule is that the lower threshold is an amount that, after 70 years of exposure results in a 1 in 100,000 chance of causing problems.

So the chances of your daughters being affected by this are slim to none.

California is so messed up. Virtually everything has to have a warning label on it in that state. I recently bought the Oogie Boogie candy dish from Disney Direct and it came with a California Prop 65 warning for containing chemicals know to cause cancer in lab rats. Hello, it's a cermaic candy dish. I'm not going to eat it. I think they stuck these warning sheets in every box just in case some of them were shipped to Ca addresses. Almost every time we buy something from Disney Direct we get those warning sheets.

If anything in those products were truely dangerous they wouldn't be sold in the first place. It's just California over reacting as usual.
    Last edited by JangoFett; 09-15-2005 at 09:38 AM.
    You can think I'm wrong, but that's no reason to quit thinking.

• No bacon; sausage.

Quote Originally Posted by JangoFett
    Hello, it's a cermaic candy dish. I'm not going to [eat] it.