Page 1 of 8 1234 ... LastLast

• Minion

Tasman goes to Disneyland - first time in 25 years!

Yup it's been a while (not since 1984)...but better late than never I guess I went to DL on 4/6/09 and DCA on 4/8/09.

I was staying with a friend in the Beverly Hills Adjacent area and set out around 8:30, reaching the resort around 9:35 after navigating typically heavy downtown traffic and moderately heavy Santa Ana traffic. Catching the tram and then standing in a long ticket line (I hadn't bargained for spring break crowds!) I was finally inside DL around 10:30. Amerliorating the long wait was a gorgeous So Cal spring day and the anticipation of one who doesn't frequent the parks quite as much as some in this forum ( ). As an east coast resident my point of comparison is of course the Magic Kingdom and WDW. Parking and reaching the ticketing area was more convenient than at Orlando. Not having to navigate the Seven Seas Lagoon also saves time, and the plaza between the two parks is beautifully decorated, but the sense of arrival when crossing the water at Orlando is missing. So there are plusses and minuses to either resort in these regards.

Checking the times guide and then verifying at City Hall, I was disappointed to learn that there would be no Fantasmic till June (this had been one of my top priorities). But mentally casting aside this minor hiccup I headed down gorgeous Main St. USA.

As a visual climax to Main Street, the castle is a little too small, and doesn't have the same impact as the Magic Kingdom's castle. However, size considerations aside, the castle and street are quite beautiful. Main Street CA trumps Main Street FL on two accounts...first, because of its Center Street, which adds depth to the land, and because of its Railroad (but more of that later). The colors of Anaheim's castle also lend it a warmth missing in Orlando. Finally, the Matterhorn adds a wonderful and unique touch to the CA version missing everywhere else.