Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

• Disneyland History Lover

The trees around the Castle make it look small

Today's MiceChat Roundup banner grabbed my attention. It's something I've thought about from time to time, but this really makes me realize how the trees surrounding the Castle make it appear smaller.

Here's a couple more.

Some of the trees in the banner are in front of the Castle in the center of the hub. Those don't seem to be much of a problem at all. If you're standing right in front of the Castle, you don't notice the trees behind it and to the sides as much. But when you're coming down Main Street it dawns on you how small the Castle really is. I know these trees are probably almost as old as the park itself, and there's really no way to "trim" them without removing them entirely (which I generally don't like the idea of cutting down old trees). I'm not a tree expert, but maybe they're even still growing. The Castle needs to have trees around it, no doubt. They help give it a more natural look. At least until they grow taller than the castle itself.

What are y'all's thoughts on this? Should something be done to fix this, or should Disney just let the trees be?

• Minion

Re: The trees around the Castle make it look small

Quote Originally Posted by Victoria View Post
    But when you're coming down Main Street it dawns on you how small the Castle really is.

• Go DCA, Go! :D

I don't think the castle looks terribly small,. I actually prefer this castle instead of the one at WDW because its charming rather than scary-looking. But the trees don't make a huge difference.

The castle is small and the trees don't help it much. Time for a trimming The one at WDW is a decent size...
    I don't like strollers, kids on leashes or ecv's. Yeah, I'm a jerk like that. But I am pro musket cap gun at D Land.

• I'm not really here