Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast

• Once upon a dream

Disney Imagineering Question

Ok well I was wondering what the requirements would be to become a Landscaping Archeticet (sp?) for Disney. I know people say make something with all your ideas but what else? I am still a Freshmen in High School and I am able to draw and come up with an idea in a few seconds if asked. What courses and classes should I take? What are they looking for?

• Drink life to the lees.

Re: Disney Imagineering Question

The only thing that I've heard is that they generally like to have people who are multi-talented and are good at everything.... Someone correct me if I'm wrong (which I generally am...) I'm also a freshman and someday I want be an Imagineer or CEO of The Walt Disney Company - that way, I can slap the bean counters' heads and greenlight everything decent and say no to the stupid stuff...

• I'm not really here

It is INCREDIBLY rare for someone to just get hired at WDI straight out of school. They prefer people who have had experience in their selected field.

As was said, they also like people who are well seasoned and have experience and knowledge of related areas. You need to be able to see and know exactly how your area of expertise fits in and meshes with other areas of a project. You'll need to understand architecture and how landscaping can enhance it, not just landscaping. Lighting will also probably be something you'll want to think about as many Disney attractions and locations are lit at night. You'll also want to think in terms of theater (the story being told by a place).

You'll want to get the best education you can, and work hard to learn all you can in as many areas as possible and get experience in many different applications of your field. You'll want to apply, apply, reapply and in the words of one Imagineer: "Beg and plead." If it is your dream, do not give up on it. Work hard and learn always and keep shooting for it.