Disneyland Thesis Ideas

Hi everyone, hope this is an appropriate area to post this.

I am a grad student in Environmental Design at the dissertation topic selection stage. I am having a really tough time choosing a thesis topic and would like to ask for help in the best place I can think of given my interests.
    My program is a bit schizophrenic-students study everything from urban design to ecology to interior design and everything in between.

With a background in animation and media and a passion for Disney park spatial-experiences I thought my topic selection would be a slam dunk. I would write about Disney parks, in particular how with WED all these creative disciplines converge to create kinetic spaces, (which is the catch all phrase I use for everything from queues to rides to general park dynamic design).

However this has been a very difficult process for me. First of all the reception of many profs has been icy due to, I suppose, the whole Ivory Tower mentality as Disney being fluff, (what do they know!). But also because a thesis must break new ground so to speak, and this is my failure having been naïve in thinking I could just look at an area of interest and essentially write about it.
    What I need to do is “solve a problem” as is the refrain in class or more accurately I think, come up with something novel about the topic to look at.

So you can imagine in academia this has generally been lobbied to me as a topic I should look at as a problem, i.e. the undesired themeing of architecture or the “Disney-fication” of America/the world…blah blah.

I love Disney and hardly want to write some critique. I want to celebrate this design synergy and this is where I need help! Are there any Disney Scholars here who might be willing to guide me with a topic selection?
    One thought I had was looking at how these kinetic spaces are developed. I know they are generally first conceptualized visually with concept art and later built into tangible scale models.