Need help with a paper about the history of the Disneyland Railroad

Hello Everyone,

I am a graduate student who is writing a paper about the history of the Disneyland Railroad. Some questions I'd like to answer include (but not limited to):

-Why did Walt want to incorporate a railroad into the park?
    -How did the railroad fit into Walt's overall plan for Disneyland?
    -Are the trains at Disneyland modeled after specific models of trains?

The paper needs to be at least 20 pages long. I've found a few books from the library, but can you suggest other sources, or places I can look?

I am a huge Walt Disney/Disneyland fan, and have been lurking on the site for many years. I appreciate in advance your advice!

~T.

• Halloween 2011

Re: Need help with a paper about the history of the Disneyland Railroad

Steve deGaetano is the resident expert on the Disneyland Railroad and has written a number of columns (just click on anything ending in HTML from this index or select any of his columns from the miceage.com front page - located near the bottom).

As to brief answers, Walt loved trains so that explains the "why". "How" is answered by the fact that every iteration of a park, from the first-planned park in Burbank to the eventual Disneyland in Anaheim included a train.

Steve is definitely a fabulous resource. The book you want to start with is Michael Broggie's Wlat Disney's Railroad Story

Amazon.com: Walt Disney's Railroad Story: The Small-Scale Fascination That Led to a Full-Scale Kingdom (9781563420092): Michael Broggie: Books
    The Mur

• Bring back the Keelboats!

Boy, did you come to the right place! Yes, check out what the two posts above mentioned. Awesome articles!

Hidden Mickey - Historical fiction about Walt that mixes action and mystery with time travel and fantasy! Tweens to adults will enjoy these novels. And now, three gamebooks to play in Disneyland, DCA and WDW Magic Kingdom!