Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

RFID Braclets possible security risk

So I am by no means an expert in anything even close to "hacking," but I have heard that RFID chips are very easy to exploit and use to gather information. Again, I have no experience doing this, I am only aware of what I have read and been told. That being said, from the last Micechat Podcast, RFID seems like it will be a major component of the NextGen system, with the biggest ability of the whole system being able to but your credit card on the "My Magic" wristband or card. Again, I have no actual knowledge of how the system will work (if RFID will be used to transmit credit card data or if another interface would be used), but I am interested to hear from someone who does have a background using this technology.

Am I completely off base here, or is there any truth to my thoughts? I certainly don't want to begin a witchunt here accusing Disney of leaving sensitive information out in the open, especially since they haven't done anything of the sort yet lol.

• SORCERER

Re: RFID Braclets possible security risk

Quote Originally Posted by ewokrights View Post
    So I am by no means an expert in anything even close to "hacking," but I have heard that RFID chips are very easy to exploit and use to gather information. Again, I have no experience doing this, I am only aware of what I have read and been told. That being said, from the last Micechat Podcast, RFID seems like it will be a major component of the NextGen system, with the biggest ability of the whole system being able to but your credit card on the "My Magic" wristband or card. Again, I have no actual knowledge of how the system will work (if RFID will be used to transmit credit card data or if another interface would be used), but I am interested to hear from someone who does have a background using this technology.