Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Does anyone remember, was there a push to save Country Bear Jamboree?

As a WDW veteran I remember when Mr. Toad's Wild Ride left us for good and all that is left is a homage to Toad in the form of a statue at the pet semetary outside Haunted Mansion. Winnie the Pooh was the replacement (just like how it replaced Country Bears in DL) and while I enjoy that ride as well I can't help but wonder how they couldn't have made both of them co-exist. In Disneyland Mr. Toad's Wild Ride is a popular ride and one of my favourites. However, WDW still has Country Bears which is one of my favourites while Disneyland took their's down around 2001 (if I am not mistaken) and erected Winnie. Being in that area in Critter Country I can't help but notice the amount of space in that corner where both attractions should have been able to co-exist together.

When Toad closed in WDW there were protests and even a petition on the early days of the internet to stop it from closing. WDW guests don't have the clout that Disneyland guests do though for the very reason that WDW has less locals than DL and is often a once in a lifetime trip for many guests.

So what was the reason for getting rid of a classic like CBJ at DL? Just not popular enough or didn't have the crowds meant to justify keeping it? Were there not enough people who fought to keep it?

Re: Does anyone remember, was there a push to save Country Bear Jamboree?

I don't know for sure but if I remember correctly interest had fallen off and they decided to replace it. We only went to it once and that was enough. I only went to the one in Florida once and that was enough there as well.

• Minion