Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Why can't they bring back the Skyway?

Hi all! This is my first time posting to micechat and I was wondering, with all the technological advancements, why can't they rebuild the skyway? Just for some background information, I am 17 years old and have been going to Disney since I was 3. So I really want to ride it and wish it was open. Can anyone explain to me why Disneyland hasn't thought about this?

• Minion

Re: Why can't they bring back the Skyway?

Because our society can be quite overprotective in terms of safety.

Quote Originally Posted by minivan2 View Post
    Hi all! This is my first time posting to micechat and I was wondering, with all the technological advancements, why can't they rebuild the skyway? Just for some background information, I am 17 years old and have been going to Disney since I was 3. So I really want to ride it and wish it was open. Can anyone explain to me why Disneyland hasn't thought about this?
    If they had re-opened it, OSHA and DOSH would probably currently have it closed. I wish I was kidding. Unfortunately, it's not going to happen because...where do I start? You'd have to get it up to current safety standards, which are stricter than they were back in the 20th century. You'd have to make it comply with the ADA. Also, it didn't have very high capacity, and was, of course, something everybody wanted to ride. Putting it back would probably also mean re-opening those holes in the Matterhorn. I'd bet that today, those opening would be deemed to narrow with not enough clearance for the cabins to pass.
    The thing that needs to be addressed is, of course, that old Peoplemover/Rocket Rods track. Trust me, the Peoplemover was almost like the Skyway, but you would feel a lot safer, the capacity was much higher, and at times, there was no wait. And you can still ride it in Florida.

• Circle of Ancients

Blog Entries

• Chief Troublemaker