• Minion

Things for aspiring imagineers to do

Do you guys have any ideas for projects or things to do for people who want to be imagineers in the future? Here are some of mine

Drawing
    Making models
    jotting down ideas
    looking up disney attraction history
    designing an enclosure for a pet i.e fish or reptiles etc

• Sondheimian

Re: Things for aspiring imagineers to do

This is what I do, and I just love doing it anyway, but I think it's extremely beneficial to be involved in the Theatre in some way, because Disney attractions are basically just gigantic shows. Every aspect of Theatre is in every single Disney attraction. I'm majoring in Design/Technical Theatre, and that's how I'm preparing.
    “To all who come to this happy place; welcome. Disneyland is your land. Here age relives fond memories of the past...and here youth may savor the challenge and promise of the future. Disneyland is dedicated to the ideals, the dreams and the hard facts that have created America...with the hope that it will be a source of joy and inspiration to all the world.” - Walt Disney

• No Disassemble!

Read "Brain Storm: Unleashing Your Creative Self" by Don Hahn.

Amazon.com: Brain Storm: Unleashing Your Creative Self (9781423140368): Don Hahn: Books
    Many Bothans died to bring you these fastpasses.

Read some books written by the imagineers:

1)The Imagineering Way

http://www.amazon.com/Imagineering-Way-The-Imagineers/dp/B001Q3M6OI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1367763182&sr=8-1&keywords=imagineering+way

2) The Imagineering Workout

Amazon.com: The Imagineering Workout (9780786855544): The Disney Imagineers: Books

I have the second book, and I recommend it.

Another idea is if you plan to go to college, consider Cal State Fullerton. Also known as "Cal State Disney", because they have a strong network of people who can get you to imagineering, from what I've been told.

Disneyland - 1982 to Present
    Walt Disney World - 1996, 2011
    Tokyo Disney Resort - 2013