Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Could an Underground "Land" Work in the Landlocked Disneyland Resort?

This is a semi-serious semi-non serious question that was in my mind. We all know both Disneyland and California Adventure are starting to become quite cramped and things would have to be demolished in order to expand. That hotel building behind Carsland, the Submarine Lagoon, and surrounding commercial and residential zones...all would have to come down sooner or later in order for that new ride, land, or park to exist. My question is could Disney go down? Down into the ground that is. Right under the parks in order to make a new land. As ridiculous as it sounds, could it work? I mean, avoiding all the underground pipes and being deep enough so the roof won't collapse above you.

I am no engineer and I can still see problems (Roof cave in, underground obstacles, cost, OSHA, etc.) could​ an underground land work? Or is my mind just being fanciful again?

Total Tender Rides: 20
    Total Lilly Belle Rides: 9
    Total Dapper Days Attended: 2
    Total Mark Twain Wheelhouse Rides: 5

•   
    • Minion

Re: Could an Underground "Land" Work in the Landlocked Disneyland Resort?

What would concern me would be seismic activity, more than anything else...
    Merida looks like this. Not a Barbie doll!

• Beach Expert

A beach town that Harbor Blvd was named after

I don't think it's possible. There is a high groundwater table underneath the city of Anaheim, and you don't have to dig far to hit water. Notice that not too many places in So Cal have basements. That's partly the reason why.

It's already there, kind of . . . subs and Autopia.

• world class bilge rat

Quote Originally Posted by DisneyIPresume View Post
    I don't think it's possible. There is a high groundwater table underneath the city of Anaheim, and you don't have to dig far to hit water. Notice that not too many places in So Cal have basements. That's partly the reason why.
    Agree.