How to make my summer Disneyland trip the best!

Hello! I'm pretty new to this, so I'm sorry if this is awful. I haven't had a family vacation to Disneyland in about 5 years. I have gone 3 times in the past 2 years though, but for other situations. I want to make this vacation the best that it can be, because this will probably be the last family vacation that we'll be having as a full family (Divorces suck). I went last summer with my ex but it was so crowded that it was almost impossible to get on anything we wanted. ESPECIALLY radiator spring racers. Due to the fact that it had just opened, the line was 2 hours long, and the fast passes were out 5 minutes after DCA opened. Indiana Jones was also having major malfunctions with the moving wall illusion, which lost the magic for me. Most of the rides seemed to be sped up too, which actually made them a little more interesting. I noticed the biggest difference in speed on pirates. It was really cool.

So I just got knee surgery a couple weeks ago and I won't be able to walk comfortably or normally for a long time. I'm going to use a wheel chair when we go. I've used it once before when my knee was acting up and I noticed that it was a lot easier to get on most Disney rides, but DCA actually seemed like it was longer and harder for wheelchair guests. Does anyone have any tips on how to make the wheelchair process better? Or any rides where it seems to have a really big advantage to have one? (I've noticed that Star Tours will sometimes let you take a side door which is faster, and then sometimes make you take the normal route. Does anyone know which one they're supposed to have you go through?)

I was also wondering if they've fixed the moving wall illusion in Indiana Jones. And if there's any other rides having malfunctions as well. I know that thunder mountain will be closed in summer (which sucks). Are there any other rides that will be closed?