View Poll Results: Is it hopeless to expect a non tie-in ride?

Voters
38. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, Disney will not make an original ride.

10 26.32%
  • Sort of, I have faith that there is a chance Disney will make an original ride

18 47.37%
  • No, the chances of making an original ride vs tie in is 50/50

10 26.32%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Does anyone else feel hopeless for non tie-in rides?

I am a southern California resident and have lived here my entire life and have wonderful memories of Disneyland. As the years went on I noticed a trend in terms of rides and attractions. Everything coming out seems like it has to promote an existing franchise so Disney can advertise for toys and merchandise sales. To me this cheapens what makes Disneyland so special.

Some of my favorite rides are Pirates (which also had to be updated as an advertisement), Haunted Mansion, Captain EO, and Space Mountain. These are all original concepts, not made as promotion of any series. I feel like Disney will never again make original attractions. That being said, there are some really well done attractions based off other franchises. I understand that when you are investing tens of millions of dollars into a ride, making it a tie-in is a great way to insure the investment pays off.

However, I have the mindset that creating brand new attractions can build up the park even more and have its own unique merchandise. If you look at how well loved the old attractions are, just imagine the future potential of an original attraction opening. With Tomorowland becoming Star Wars land and Animal Kingdom opening Avatar land, I feel even more hopeless.

In fact, I would not be surprised if in the future all Disney rides are based off pre-existing franchises.

Does anybody else feel hopeless for rides with original concepts?
    Last edited by Nesboy43; 02-02-2014 at 12:36 PM.

• Indiana Scott

Re: Does anyone else feel hopeless for non tie-in rides?