• Basking in birthday love

College Band returns! My response? Meh.

So today was the first day of the 2006 All-American College Band. Now, for several weeks, all I've been hearing from parade people is "College band, college band! They're so awesome, the guys are so hot, it's so much fun!" So I was intrigued, and curious to see them.

And it's all very... not great. One of the drummers was sort of cute, but that was about it for eye candy. As for the music, I was distinctly unimpressed. I've been a musician for 12 years, and though I was never in band, I was in flagline briefly, and most of my friends were band geeks, so I know whereof I speak. They're just not that good. They're not bad, but I've heard better.

I do think that they shouldn't play at flag retreat, though. What before was a brief, dignified ceremony is now a joke. (Seriously, a big band version of "Caissons Go Rolling Along"? What the hell is that?) And it takes twice as long as it used to, and standing at attention when it's hot and the sun is at precisely the wrong angle? Not fun.

So maybe I just don't get it, but I don't see what all the fuss was about. Perhaps they'll improve as the summer goes on and they get more practice playing as a group, but I think I'll honestly be glad to see them go.

Cinderella IV: The Bloodening

"It's okay, Beaker, we're scientists. We get paid to fail."

Re: College Band returns! My response? Meh.

I don't remember his name, but the old band leader had been doing it for a million years retired last year. When he was in charge, it was exceptional and I tried to make it point to be present for every flag ceremony when I was there.
    Haven't seen the new band play yet though.
    The Next Big Disney Thing: starts Jan. 3rd

• MiceChat Moderator
    • back to basics

large bands need a lot of practice to play well together, so maybe they'll get better as time goes on. Though, that doesn't help the other issue.

ErikAnders.smugmug.com

Fratsor Brother - ΔΜΧΑ