Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

• CM for 4 years!

To CM or not to CM? - Whether to work at the Disney Resort

My school was having a job fair, and I thought it would be fun to go and apply to Disneyland. Well, they offered me a job as a hostess at the Blue Bayou and my first appointment to fill out paperwork is next Wednesday. Wow!

But I'm currently working at Blockbuster Video. I love my job, and I'm getting paid $8.50/hour, but I'm having a LOT of trouble getting enough hours to pay my bills. Now, I'm a college student, and all that I have to pay is car insurance and groceries ... Each paycheck is only $150 though, and sometimes, I'd like to buy myself a new blouse or a lip gloss, you know?

So the question is, is working at Disneyland, having dependable hours (this summer will be PAKCED for the 50th and I only want 24-28 hours a week), and getting the reference to the Resort on the resume worth a small pay cut and a 35-minute commute? Or should I stick with my current job?!

Are there advantages to being a CM? I'm looking into taking a WDW trip, so I could save a ton of money by being a CM. If it worth a slight pay cut and the commute? Please, responses from other current/past CMs and especially host/hostesses will be really appreciated!!

I have to decide by tomorrow morning whether to turn in my two-weeks' notice!

• Super saucy pixie!

Hi! Congratulations on the offer!
    In my opinion as a former CM, there's no job in the world like one for Disneyland. They may not always be so flexible in your new hire times, but I don't think you'd ever regret the decision to give it a try. I've held a lot of jobs and honestly, to this day I compare them all against my experiences at Disneyland. Yeah I might get paid more elsewhere, yeah the commute elsewhere is easier, but if I could haul Disneyland with me wherever I end up in life, I would. It was a wonderful experience and I recommend it to anyone who has the opportunity.