Walt Disney felt that no park was complete without a carousel. Therefore, a Dentzel park model carousel which had operated since 1922 at Sunnyside Park in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, was taken from Sunnyside and moved to Disneyland Park just before the park opened in 1955. The carousel has been significantly altered since then. The original chariots were removed and used as cars on the Casey Junior Circus Train. A Wurlitzer #157 band organ is on the carousel, but does not operate. Motifs from The Sword In The Stone were used in 1955 to replace elements of the carousel. Original inner rounding boards were replaced with mirrors, and the jester and princess head shields on the outer rounding boards have been extensively altered also.
The carousel has seventy-two horses, some of which were taken from a Stein & Goldstein carousel and another carousel in 1955 to add a fourth row, completely made of jumpers. Standers on the original three rows were converted to jumpers in 1955. All horses have been painted white since 1976.
King Arthur's Carrousel is an original Disneyland attraction and opened in July 1955. The carrousel was purchased from an amusement park in Canada (Sunnyside Beach Park in Toronto) dismantled, and shipped to California where it was extensively madeover. The carrousel reopened in March 2003 after an extensive one-year rehab in which it received a new motor, canopy, and paint job. All of the horses are unique, and are repainted every two years. Many of the horses have names. Jingles is often considered the lead horse (she was painted gold for Disneyland's 50th anniversary celebration) and has bells and flowers in her hair. There are also Avanti, Dante, Daisy, Flash, and King. The horses were originally of all different colors, but they were all repainted white in 1975.