Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

• A Pirate's Life For Me

How Does DCA Really Compare To Other Disney Parks?

This thread is not for or against DCA. I know this is a hot button topic around here. Those of you who are tired of discussing the DCA pros and cons may want to just skip this thread.

I am not part of the DCA Haters or DCA Lovers Club and have no emotional stake in the answer to this question.

My reason for asking this now is an outgrowth of my first ever visit to WDW in June. I am a DL vet, having visited the park every year or so over the last 40 years. I have been a fairly regular reader of MiceChat for the last 18 months, as well as several other DLR forums. I have visited DCA on four trips over the last few years and have had enough time to form some definite opinions about it.

It is no secret that DCA has not met Disney's attendance expectations. The reasons for this have been debated elsewhere and it is not relevant to my question as stated in the thread's title.

The most reliable attendance numbers for 2005 North American theme parks can be found here: www.themeparkinsider.com/flume/200512/2/

Historical attendance numbers at all Disney parks can be found here: www.scottware.com.au/theme/guide.htm - click on the “When to Go/Attendance graphs” on the left menu and from there click on the “Annual Visitor Totals” link.

From reading MC and other forums, it appears there are a number of knowledgeable people who believe that DCA misses the mark of a Disney park. Much of the criticism can be found on Darkbeer's informative thread which has stretched out for the last 12 months. Here is a link:

http://www.micechat.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9078

I have no idea of the accuracy of the reports of the alleged PowerPoint presentation and the "invent a new theme park over a weekend in Colorado" retreat. I tend to believe Darkbeer's assertions, FWIW.