Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Disneyland Legal Question.

I'm a photographer, and I take a lot of photos at DL. For one of my assignments in class I had to put together a mock photobook. My topic was, of course, Disneyland.

So many people told me that the book came out so well that I should actually look into putting together a book of my art.

Well. I'm quite sure that I just can't take a picture of the Haunted Mansion and sell it. Even though I'm creating the art, Disney created the subject.

So, my two questions for anyone who may have the answers are:

1.) Where can I find the actual law (ie: more information) about taking pictures at DL and selling them? I'd like to actually read it myself.

2.) How could I go about getting my book approved by Disney? There are a number of people who regularly write on MiceAge that have written books all about Disneyland and sell them. Are these done with permission? Is there a way around it because it's done as a Fan instead of simply a capital venture?

If anyone could shed some lights on these topics, I'd be greatly appreciative. Even just a better direction to go from here.

Thanks again, guys!

• Sun Wheel survivor!

Re: Disneyland Legal Question.

Try calling the legal deparment at DL. Also check copywrite law and see what exactly is covered.

You may not be able to make money from photogs of DL as the subject matter is their property - however, you may be able to take as many personal pics as you want. Check it out and please let us know what you find.

Don't try to kid yourself - if you were only doing it as a fan - you wouldn't desire to publish it. Publishing it in hopes of gaining sales is a capital venture.
    Minnietoo

• Hopper's Mortal Enemy

Cool Re: Disneyland Legal Question.

Quote Originally Posted by minnietoo View Post
    Don't try to kid yourself - if you were only doing it as a fan - you wouldn't desire to publish it. Publishing it in hopes of gaining sales is a capital venture.