Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

• MiceAge Columnist
    • Dateline Disneylander

DLR Podcast on Rockin Both Parks: "Our tagline for this is 'Space Mountain Revealed'"

I don't know if any of you have listened to the most recent Official Disneyland Resort Podcast, but it's entirely dedicated to Rockin' Both Parks.

It features interviews with various individuals from within Walt Disney Imagineering. The interview with Christie Allen (Senior Show Producer) and Paula Hinkle (Principle Lighting Designer, Emiritus) from WDI, in particular struck me as distressing... Either these people had been given a script they had to use as a guideline, or they simply don't "get" Disneyland. And if they simply don't "get" Disneyland, then what is their business in WDI?

Let's look at some interesting excerpts from this Podcast:

Michael (Podcast Host): First off, let me just ask you, who are you and what do you do?
    Christie Allen: I'm a senior show producer for WDI, I'm responsible for taking a project from it's creative concept through to it's completion and opening
    Micahel: And the special project that we're going to btalk about today?
    Christie: Rockin' Both Parks.

Michael: And Paula, what is it that you do?
    Paula Hinkle: I'm a lighting designer
    Michael: Now, I heard a much fancier definition of what it is that you did earlier, I mean, Christie really laid it out. So Christie, give us that definition again.
    Christie: What I said about Paula is that she was a Principle Lighting Designer, Emiritus from Walt Disney Imagineering. Paula actually retired earlier in the year and we've actually brought her back for this special show because she is the best in the industry at adding beautiful lighting designs to rock-n-roll music in rollercoasters.

My thoughts: They brought Paula back from retirement to do this project, and she delivered this? Some flashing lights and some tacky dancing "rock and roll fans"? Maybe it was the budget cuts... but really. Come on...