Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

• Multi-decade CM

Arrow How to fix CM morale WITHOUT pay raises

Dear Disney,

I know you read these message boards. Just like I know you comb through newspapers looking for articles on Disney. I know because I had to do that for a few weeks.

I know the subject intrigued you, even if only for a moment. So let me qualify myself.

I am a 15 year veteran of Disneyland. I've seen quite a lot. I've worked on-stage and backstage. I was not the "perfect" CM. I continually flaunted the hair length regulations. (I hated my ears and thus tried to cover them up as long as I could get away with it.) I also could be gruff with the Guests. But that gruffness also made me very good at Guest Control. During the Electric Parade's final summer, I was assigned to a section by myself because the leads knew I could handle it. I was very proud of the fact that my section was the most organised and controlled on the entire route.

I've worked with Guests and Management, doing things from Attractions to Accounts Payable. I've been on "morale committees" and union activities. I've been called an asset to the company and been given awards as well as being told that management wanted to "march [me] to the end of Main Street and put [me] in front of a firing squad" (exact words). Yes, I've run the gambit.

In case you're curious (and you should be), I am in good standing and have only been written up once, back in 1989, for attendance. Other than that, my record is spotless.

If you're thinking this is going to be a bashing letter, please understand that I am not here to bury you. In fact, I will sing your praises. Disney does a lot of good that the detractors overlook for the sake of wanting to complain. Yet I will not be bashful about pointing out your deficiencies, either. If you want a Yes Man, you're looking in the wrong place. I'm certain you can find plenty of them if you really want one.