• now that i see you ♥

Blog Entries

Anyone know about why...

...ToT's Alpha shaft is down? A friend told me that it was going to be down for a while and that it was a technical thing, then that he "couldn't tell any more than that"....Anyone know what's up? It's really bothering me, probably just because he wouldn't tell me. Thanks for any info anyone can give!
    dreams. come. true.

• Once A Skip Always A Skip

Re: Anyone know about why...

Maybe it's haunted?
    -"Enjoy the rest of your stay here at Disneyland, where all of your dreams come true...well except for two of them, short lines and cheap food."

Woodland Hills CA - Hottest spot in Los Angeles City Limits

They probably don't people freaking out and passing wild rumors on the Internet over a minor safety concern that they'll fix and make go away normally.

NOTE - I am Not a Disney CM, I have no inside knowledge at all other than an operational understanding of how elevators work (and some time riding on the top of several elevator cars with an elevator repairman, in the pits and the machine rooms, fixing electrical problems) so the following is PURE SPECULATION regarding ToT:

There are a few things that are unique to ToT, like the seats and seatbelts, the show lighting and sound elements - but most of it is a high speed passenger traction elevator on steroids.

So it could be something simple like one of the wire rope lift cables started to fray and they caught it - there are multiple cables so it certainly isn't going to fail suddenly, but if one of the 8 or 10 parallel cables has problems they have to shut down the shaft and change them all at the same time. And it takes time to replace them all and get them all tensioned the same and ready to go.