Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

• Northwest Disneyphile

The unpopular Walt thread

This post will be one of the hardest things I will ever write, granted I am not a writer by trade but still…

Things I have read on this and other message boards this week include: The question “Is the magic slipping?” and that EPCOT as we know it today is the perfect example of what happened when Walt Disney died.

Quote Originally Posted by Athlonacon
    ...Take for example EPCOT, Disney found there was no profit to be made in it so they turned Walt's new pet project into a theme park.
    And
    Quote Originally Posted by Athlonacon
    …But Epcot today is a modern-day example of what happened when Walt died...his ideas and ideals died with him.
    I would like to start of by saying that in this post I mean not to insult anybody who I may quote or reference in any other form.

This last spring as part of my radio broadcasting class I was given the assignment to write and produce a thirty-minute radio show on the history of Disneyland.

Naturally I leapt the chance and starting going threw all the book and web sites I could find on the subject. As I neared my due date I started to think about the man responsible for the whole thing, and I decide that if Walt Disney had not died when he did and lived on for another 5 years, history would not remember him the way it dose today.

I honestly believe Walt was slowly going insane over the years. Lets look at the idea behind EPCOT as Walt envisioned it. It was his last frontier. He had spent all his live controlling things. Starting with animated film moving on to actors in movies, later out-door landscapes and even creating life with Audio-Animatronics. Why not see if he could control the place people actually live and work and play.