• dream out loud

what's it like to be a cast member

I am seriously thinking of leaving my job (after securing a few months of finances) and getting a job at Disneyland. I'd hope to work my way up over time to a modest position (I don't plan on being a bigwig), but I figure I'd start at the beginning like anyone else running a ride, a gift shop, etc...and just make a career of it. I'll save my story and get to my questions:

I'm hoping some of you can help me - past or current cast members:

1. What are your experiences?
    2. What's the good and the bad of working at the big D?
    3. What's salary/hourly range?
    4. What's the structure of possible advancement (ie are there still area managers for the lands?)
    5. How much vacation do you get?
    6. What other benefits are there - health? retirement? other goodies?

thanks to all the micechatters that have been so cool in responding to a few other rookie threads I've started!

For anyone still reading and curious - I work as a Hall Director at a university in SoCal. It's a roller coaster, but a cumbersome part of my job is dealing with serious emergencies - life/death situations. There's little room for advancement without taking on more headaches and the challenges of dealing with students and parents in their living environment.

In some ways, that should prepare me for complaining guests at D-land! But at least they leave at the end of the day! I also live on campus so I'm pretty much always at my job.

On the other hand, I've had a passion for Disney since I was young. You'd think I was lifelong SoCaler who grew up going to Disneyland, but I grew up in Ohio. In my high school yearbook I wrote that my ambition was "to someday work for the Disney company" (I'm intensely creative and thought I'd be an animator). But, I lived in Ohio and working for Disney never seemed too realistic.