Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

• Sgt Pepper's Cardiologist

Smile Large Trip Report from a Large Person's Perspective

Hello friends.

We just got back from 7 days at Disneyland. Yes, a full 7. Not 3, not 5... no quick visits to Knotts Berry or Universal... a full 7 days at Disneyland.

I have never written a trip report before so please forgive me if I repeat what others may have said on the past.

What I hope makes this trip report different is that I will write it from the perspective of a 6'5, 375 pound man.... actually... now 369 as all that Disney walking in the 90 degree heat did wonders for my weight.

Lets begin....

1. Choice of Hotel.

I am very aware, as many larger people are, that I will tire easily. I did not wish to walk the extra three blocks to save a few dollars on a hotel room. Many hotels say they are right across the street and although that may be true, that can still be blocks from the Disneyland entrance on South Harbour Blvd. So if you are like me and wanted to avoid those extra blocks at the end of the day or waiting around for your bus or tram, look into the Fairfield by Marriot, the Park Place Inn And Mini Suites and the Carosel. These will get you comfortable in your room in very little time.

Many of these hotels are the same distance away as the actual Disneyland Hotel and half the cost.

2. Main Street.

Love the Street, hate the crowds that seem to go in every direction at all times. As a large person, I hate crowds. Its nice to be patient and allow others to cut in front of you as the little path of people you are travelling with just got narrower, but it's a pain when you wish to cross and others think you are bumping into them or being pushy. As many of the stores are connected, you can often get from one end to the other with very little traffic.

Of course there are also many modes of transport on the road, but if you have a large tummy, you may wish to avoid the horse drawn carriage as the entrance ways are narrow.