Thread: New here

New here

Hello all,

I've recently joined micechat to learn more about Duffy and as I've been reading old posts I thought it time to at least say hello...

I'm a true newbie to Duffy as I didn't even know of his existence until last weekend... and in fact, only bumped into him whilst looking for a sweater for another teddy. But I'm catching up fast, and I'm in full-on Duffy love here! Every spare moment (when I should be getting ready for Christmas) I've been reading as much as I can about him and loving all of the posts, blogs, pictures, youtube, and adventures you all are having!

I'm currently Duffy-less but I've put him on the top of my Christmas list and I personally delivered that to Santa a couple of days ago so I think I will be doing a happy Duffy dance in just over a week! Gosh, I love Christmas and haven't been this excited since my kids still believed in all things magical. As it happens, just a few weeks back I was thinking about again getting a BAB as ours were lost in hurricane Sandy. The destruction of so much of our home (people, pets and bears were safe) has changed what I bring into our life though. Finding out about Duffy I had an immediate sense of being on the other side of that stressful time and I think he is a wonderful way to make the transition to the next part of my life.

I've been a teddy bear person for a long time, but being a mom put it on the back burner for years. My youngest (who will fly the nest soon) re-ignited my bear collecting a few years back with his interest. We even had BAB's for a few years but then my son grew up and out of most of that. I have bears in most rooms but since our house is small, I try to keep a reasonable limit on it but I often find bears everywhere "speak" to me and ask to come home... hey, what's a bear lover to do??? My constant companion in a 3.5" bear Theodore (avatar pic) that has all kinds of adventures on his own.