Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

• I'm your huckleberry.

Question Curly Girls... help please!

I know there have got to be some other curly-haired ladies on this board!

I'm looking for a GOOD stylist/salon that knows how to take care of curly hair. Someplace that will actually believe me when I tell them that when my hair dries its 5-7 inches shorter than when its wet. Someplace that understands that you do NOT layer curly hair. Someplace that won't blow dry my hair when they're done cutting... I LIKE it curly.

I am in desperate need of a cut, but as you can probably gather, I have had some icky experiences at a lot of salons. You ask if they know how to style curly hair, and they always say yes.... but then treat it just like straight hair.

HELP! Do any of you have a stylist or a salon that does a great job on your curly hair?

Thanks!!

• Banned User

Re: Curly Girls... help please!

Oye I hear ya!!!
    One time a lady cut my hair and I told her 1 inch, crap I had no hair left!! Yes, we have curly hair, it shrinks to nothing when dry and I hate to ever have any one touch it as it looks worse afterwards!!
    I have one style now, short as I am tired of it getting messed badly. I even trim my own some times to safe the hassles. I feel youer pain !!

• I'm your huckleberry.

Maybe I'll have to cut it myself like you HM... I dunno. I've left it alone for so long, my hair is now down to my waist (when its dry). That's just TOO long, I can't take it!

• Banned User

Lucky you! there is so much you could do with it, put it up, french braids, oh I would kill for long hair! My grand mother had hair to her butt and she put it up every day, I miss her. I can not grow my hair, its to curly and it stops at a certain length. After all these years it is starting to straighten out on top, but I have been blow drying it for many years straight. Hope you find some good books on curly hair, that may help with a nice style.

• MiceChat Moderator
    • Is HOME.