• formerly PretzelSouls!

Contacts and Cosmetics?

Hi everyone,

Well...I've been wearing glasses for about two years now, and when I went to my Optometrist on Tuesday, I decided to make the switch to contacts since I was getting so darn fed up with the hassle of glasses. I pick up my contacts on Tuesday afternoon.

Anyways, are there any rules regarding contacts and cosmetics? Obviously it's a bad sign when you get any foreign object in your eye...but what extra precautions do I need to take? Any brands of make-up not to use when wearing contacts?

Thank you!

Sarah
    "Go confidently in the direction of your dreams! Live the life you've imagined." -Henry David Thoreau

• ....whatever....

Re: Contacts and Cosmetics?

You need a good mascara,the cheaper kind flake(into your eyes).

• Waiting for my E-Ticket

Hanging out at The Attic with Johnny Dakota

I've been wearing contacts for almost 20 years and I haven't had any real problems concerning makeup (and I LOVE eye makeup the most). But yeah if you do mascara, you need a good kind that's formulated for contact lens wearers. Luckily most mascaras take that into consideration these days, but it never hurts to read the labels and ask like at Sephora as they can give you recommendations and all that.

• Mrs. J. Depp

My mom uses Physicians Formula products on her eyes because her Opthamologist recommended it, saying that they are non irritating for contact wearers and also budget friendly.

Facebook me!
    Join in the Disney fun at MyVMK!

• no flash photography...

I have always worn whatever make up I wanted to when I had to wear contacts...and we're talking 80's makeup complete with lining the inner eyelid. They were fine. I would not even worry with todays contacts. They' are disposable. I had to keep mine for a year. (I have since had corrective surgery)

My daughter wears contacts...she changes them once a week and wears whatever makeup she wants.

• formerly PretzelSouls!