Any Teacher's out there?? Elementary

I have a question for those educators. I've been teaching for X amount of years. I received my Clear Credential 2 months prior to the NCLB new guidelines that require myself to pass the CSET test. I've passed sections I and III, but am stuck on subset II. (math/science) My question is can I get fired for not passing it? What's frustrating is I have my Degree/Masters/and Clear Credential and now I have to finish with another test.

• Winter in Oceanside...

Re: Any Teacher's out there?? Elementary

I'm assuming you are in California??

I think being fired depends on the district you work in. They may allow an extension. I'd check with them. Eventually they will require all the hoops to be jumped through. Disgusting isn't it? You have a Clear Cred., and a masters, but that isn't good enough.

•   
      MiceChat Moderator
    • with sprinkles, please

Blog Entries

Wow, I have no idea! I'm not sure if you even need to have it, if you cleared your credential before it was made mandatory. You'd have to call your HR or credential analyst for your district to find out, but then you run the risk of ratting yourself out. Can you get in touch with the university where you got your credential? They should be on top of the latest info. I just know I had to take it before I could get into my credential program.
    A signature should go here.

Quote Originally Posted by PrincessY View Post
    I'm assuming you are in California??

I think being fired depends on the district you work in. They may allow an extension. I'd check with them. Eventually they will require all the hoops to be jumped through. Disgusting isn't it? You have a Clear Cred., and a masters, but that isn't good enough.
    Yes on California. It's very frustrating how they think a TEST is going to make Teachers highly qualified. I suppose we shouldn't expect too much since Bush was the one who started this. Maybe if I sign up to fight in Iraq they might wave the test, not.