• MiceAge Columnist
    • MiceAge Founder & Editor

Blog Entries

12/30: WDW Compendium

Osborne Refracted, New Retail & Dining, American Idol Update, Pin Trading Redux. Discuss Kevin's observations here...

DIRECT ARTICLE LINK: MiceAge.com - A different look at Disney...
    "Politics is the profession whereby the inevitable is made to seem a great human achievement" - Quentin Crisp

• Shablagoo!

Re: 12/30: WDW Compendium

Great article. As a pin trader I enjoy reading about your experiences. The locking pin backs are very cool and work very well. They look like small metal cylinders which take the place of the plastic Mickey head. You tighten them with a small allen wrench that comes with the locks. They come in baggies and can be found in most pin stores. If you can't find any ask a CM. I'd recommend buying a couple baggies of them, mostly so you have the extra wrench. I usually only use the locks for non-trading pins, the ones I want to keep.

You may want to look into pin books to put any pins in that you want to keep. Most stores have them and occasionally you can find them at the outlet store too.

• Always Improving

Great article Kevin. We have been trading for a while now and you have hit on a few key points. Picking a certain character or attraction makes it much more manageable and fun to find a pin that you don't already have. The other game we play is to try and collect all the pins of a castmember pin set. We don't really try and trade with other guests. Many guests seem to only wear their limited edition pins (almost bragging) and thus you know they aren't going to trade anyway. It is interesting to take a look at the collector's books (the people that camp out at pin stores with a few hundred pins) but since they seem to have every pin, there isn't much to trade them for. It is neat to see all the pins that are out there from around the globe though.

Happy New Year everyone.

• Super Old Guy