Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

• MiceChat News Team
    • Top Shelf!

BANZAI INSTITUTE for Biomedical Engineering and Strategic Information

Pixar's inner circle

Pixar's inner circle

20th Century Fox

KIDS’ CLASSIC: Jim Carrey supplies the pachyderm’s voice in “Dr. Seuss’ Horton Hears a Who!,”
    co-directed by Hayward and Steve Martino.

'Dr. Seuss' Horton Hears a Who!' director Jimmy Hayward had to leave Pixar
    to get his shot behind the camera. He's not alone.

By John Horn
    Los Angeles Times Staff Writer
    March 12, 2008

JIMMY HAYWARD wanted to direct movies for as long as he can remember, and when he started working at Pixar Animation Studios more than a decade ago, it looked like the self-taught animator was well on his way.

He collected animation credits on "Toy Story" and its sequel, and on "A Bug's Life," "Monsters, Inc." and "Finding Nemo." But Hayward eventually realized that if his childhood dream was to come true, he would have to do what very few Pixar employees ever consider: leave the company. And that was precisely the move he made in order to direct "Dr. Seuss' Horton Hears a Who!," which hits theaters Friday.

Pixar is rightly considered the most artistically and commercially successful movie studio around. In addition to winning countless awards (Pixar's "Ratatouille" just collected the animated feature Oscar), the Disney-owned outfit holds an unparalleled box-office streak, with each of its eight feature films becoming global blockbusters.