Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

•   
      MiceChat Round-Up Crew
    • Minion

Trekkie Dad's Diet and Exercise Thread: Finding the plan you can stick to.

My favorite threads in that "other forum" are the ones where people encourage one another to stick to their exercise and diet plans and report about their successes. I'd like to start that here, since I've heard that so many of us are overweight. Here's my story:

At 5'7" the most I ever weighed was 178 lbs. That was about nine years ago. Then I discovered cycling. First it was mountain biking. I went to a weekend training camp and came home committed to getting a new bike. It would become my "two-wheeled exercise plan" and I determined to drop the weight of the bike from my frame.

And it worked. In about a year I lost 25 lbs. I rode the bike to work (only a couple of miles at the time) and took every opportunity to ride before or after work and on weekends. I started riding with the local bike club and bought a used road bike. The club's moderate rides were hard for me, but I refused to give up and found myself getting stronger and fitter.

But over the years I gained most of the weight back. All that riding allowed me to be undisciplined with my eating. Some of the weight gain was muscle, so at 172 I was at least in good shape--or so I thought.

Last November was a rude awakening. On my first visit to a new doctor (a cyclist himself) he decided to run a few blood tests. Everthing was nominal and pretty darn good for a man of 55 years, except for a LDL of 164. Doc said all the cycling probably kept things from being worse. After asking me about what I was routinely eating, he gave me 5 months to bring my LDL below 130 through dietary change alone. "No red meat" was the first thing he said. "Eat more fish instead." "Read the labels. Watch out for saturated fat." And so it went.