• insufferable know-it-all

Cutting programs (or, why LAUSD sucks and the Valley needs to break off)

http://www2.dailynews.com/news/ci_3070145

It's about the horticulture program in a Valley school. As if the schools weren't bad enough 10 years ago, it sounds like they're getting progressively worse. IMO, vocational programs are *essential* in high school, because not everyone goes, or is suited to go, on to college. These kids need to graduate with more than algebra, they need skills that will help them get jobs.

Unusually and exceedingly peculiar and altogether quite impossible to describe...

• That's Hawt

Re: Cutting programs (or, why LAUSD sucks and the Valley needs to break off)

It sucks but it's not something central to LAUSD ... it's happening at schools throughout the state! When I graduated from my high school we had Foods, Home Ec, Wood Shop, Graphical Arts, and Automotive

This year they're down to Foods and Graphical Arts ... its very sad indeed.
    Quote Originally Posted by drunkmom
    this is my first buzzed post in the DMCA -- I'm really in this club because I'm a bitch more than anything. I've only had to hit the backspace 4 (oops, make that 5) times in (now 7) in this (now 9) (now 15) in this post! Damn, now I'm up to 18! Our neighbors were (19) (20) making tequilla sunrises. I thought I couldn't do tequilla (22) anymore but (24) this stuff (26) was good! It started (27) with an s

I loved jr. high wood shop.

It's funny... when the schools were fuller, they cut programs because they were overcrowded and resources stretched too far. Now they say they have too few students.

Unusually and exceedingly peculiar and altogether quite impossible to describe...