Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Totally off topic! Any Teacher's out there????

I've been teaching for 7 year's and want to know why female teacher's like to talk about fellow teacher's behind their backs???? Granted I'm 1 of only 2 male teacher's at my school, but it bugs me when I hear things through the grapevine. And yes what I heard was about myself from a fellow staff member who's been teaching for only 4 years. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

• white and nerdy

Re: Totally off topic! Any Teacher's out there????

seems to me that a male teacher is talking about female teachers behind their backs.

And It's totally on topic, as you started the topic yourself.

Buhahahahahaha!!!
    St. Elizabeth, Patron Saint of Themed parks. Protect us from break downs, long lines, and used gum. Amen.

"Dance like it hurts, love like you need money, and work when people are watching" - Dogbert

•   
      MiceChat Round-Up Crew
    • State sponsored cyclist

I've been teaching for 34 years, and I don't have an easy answer. People gossip. Do you expect teachers to be any different?

Many workplaces have one person who is a well-known gossip or rumormonger, but that person's credibility is usually suspect because of it.

Are the things being said potentially damaging to your personal or professional life? Then you will have to act. If you're not comfortable talking to your administrator about it, try your union rep. Teachers are not supposed to participate in one another's work evaluation--at least not in my state.

I'm afraid you haven't given me much to go on. I assume you work in an elementary school and that the gossip has something to do with being one of the few males on staff. We often get more than our fair share of attention because of it.
    Have bicycle, will ride. Finished 2012 with 10,089 miles, 683 hours, and 482,000 feet of elevation gain.
    2013: 201 rides, 8171 miles, 544 hours, 480K feet.
    2014 so far: 5751 miles, 319,000 feet