Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

•   
      MiceChat Round-Up Crew
    • Minion

Trekkie Dad's Road Trip Part II--Arizona and New Mexico

In Part I, Jimmie and I visit Disneyland and attend the April 1 Mice Chat meet. If you haven't read Part I, click here, and then come back here for Part II.

OK, back now? After a morning at DLR, we checked out and headed east. Our first stop was for lunch at the outlet mall on I-10 before you get to Palm Springs. I called Earkid in Phoenix and we decided it would be too far out of our way to stop for dinner in north Phoenix. "Maybe on our way back," I said.

It was just as well, since signs along I-10 advised going around Phoenix altogether if heading for points beyond. As advised, we headed south to I-8 where the traffic was very light and spent the night near Casa Grande where the 8 and 10 merge.

Not having ridden my bike since leaving Stockton, I studied Google Earth and got up early for a bike ride around the little mountain range just to the west of our motel. First I headed south to the edge of Arizona City. Then I headed east and found an entrance to the Tohono O'odham Nation.

I ventured in a mile or two to Chuichu, since I could see a tower in the distance. Not much was there. A school bus came by and picked up what looked to be a teenager. Then I took a closer look at this building, which I recognized to be an abandoned school.

Being on an Indian reservation, I did not want to take many pictures (especially of the residents) without talking to them first, so I turned around and continued on my loop, this time heading north (again putting the mountains on my right). I didn't realize how big this reservation was until I checked it out on the map.