Many moons ago, I was an exchange student to Egypt. It was a life changing experience. I really wanted to go to Europe, but since I listed Egypt first on the list (I put all the countries in alphabetical order), I ended up going there. There were only 10 of us who went from the US through the AFS program that year.

I received an email this morning with notification of a two week intensive program in Egypt later this summer. Here is the full information sent in the email:

Greetings from AFS in New York:

AFS-USA is offering 15 full scholarships including international airfare for a two-week intensive program to Egypt from August 23rd to September 5th. Full details follow below. We are hopeful that you know eligible candidates for this program. Please forward this on to others in your network who may be interested.

Best regards,

Patti Davis

Call for Nominations: Global Youth Leadership in the 21st Century

Egypt 2007: Preserving the Past - Building the Future
A Youth Leadership and Cultural Heritage Program!

Special Scholarship Opportunity from AFS Intercultural Programs

AFS is offering 15 extraordinary young people between the ages of 18 and 23 years old a full-tuition scholarship for an intensive cultural heritage preservation, leadership development forum and homestay program in Egypt from August 23 to September 5, 2007. Selected participants will join 25 alumni of a U.S. State Department-sponsored high school academic exchange program to the US in building a commitment to international cooperation and cultural heritage preservation through community service.