• Disney aficionado

My wife's first trip to WDW

My wife and I are planning on going to Florida next year to visit her relatives for a few days and spend 3 days at the WDW parks. We spent our honeymoon at Disneyland last year, and I spent a good deal of time planning it. This trip won't be as detailed planning wise, but I look to gather some information.

Since I am a teacher, we do have to go during the summer mid June to mid August. What time of the year would you recommend?

I am thinking about staying a couple nights at a disney value resort or a cheaper off-site property and a couple days at the dolphin for a more upscale type of atmosphere with my wife. What off-disney properties would you recommend or would you recommend the value resorts?

Are the extra magic hours worthwhile? Do they offer park hours after the close of the park often or do they only do it during the morning? What is the early morning / closing schedule like?

•   
      MiceChat Moderator
    • Mickey and 'Key

Blog Entries

re: My wife's first trip to WDW

Hi Yackerz! Welcome back Hope married life is going well

My husband (yoyoflamingo on here) is a teacher so I know all about planning trips around that schedule

Weather wise, I'd recommend mid-June but crowds can be bad since kids are right out of school. But it is going to be hot hot hot and very humid and crowded no matter what.

EMH is so worthwhile! The crowds really thin out. I am pretty sure that there is one early and one late a day, at least. Animal Kingdom closes theearliest due to the animals scheudles but they do have late hours also. Of course, getting to whatever park before open to get in line does save a lot of time as well!
    Good morning, son
    In twenty years from now
    Maybe we'll both sit down and have a few beers
    And I can tell you 'bout today
    And how I picked you up and everything changed
    It was pain
    Sunny days and rain
    I knew you'd feel the same things...

•   
      MiceChat Moderator