• mannequins man

Thumbs up Celebration V - Star Wars convention

I have never considered myself a die-hard Star Wars fan, but I definitely enjoy all the creativity, and especially the escapist "architecture" and fantasy worlds that are a part of it (I'm an architect), and since Celebration V was going to be in Orlando we decided to get one-day passes for Saturday and check it out.

We had a great time.

The "Main Event" was an interview by Jon Stewart of George Lucas. Since we did not sleep out all night, we we in the satellite auditorium simulcast with several thousand others watching on the big screen. It was kind of one of those things I never imagined myself doing, but I'm really glad I did. There's something about a live interview with someone that really gives you a different angle than an edited format. Obviously, a lot was planned ahead - including George giving Jon a Star Wars "action figure" of himself, delivered by R2-D2.
    Other guest stars that joined the stage just before conclusion were Mark Hamill and Carrie Fisher - so it was really cool to see them "grown up" - not being a die-hard I had not seen pictures of them in years and I didn't even realize it was "Luke" at first.

We did a moderately paced walk-thru of the "trade" floor - seeing the various collectible vendor booths, displays of truly amahhhzing artwork inspired by the movies, and everything else you can imagine. The whole thing is fan-based - so there are models of the set pieces and vehicles, not built by people in hollywood but by people who just love the movies.