Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

• MC's Graveyard Crew

Six Flags Discovery Kingdom Media Preview Day 2007

I had the chance to attend the media preview for the debut of the new Six Flags Discovery Kingdom makeover (Formally Six Flags Marine World.) I'm not very good at the witty captions (and its 2 a.m. at this point of writing) so I'll just let my photos tell my story instead.

Special thanks goes out to all the PR/marketing team as always. It was a fun privilege to be able to document the park as it changes for the best yet again. Thanks Discovery Kingdom!

Ready.....Here we go:

The park entrance has changed just a TAD since last year. V2's paint job also reflects the new SKY section of the park. Keep reading and you will see what I mean.

The new tram turnaround area.

As you can see there are a ton of new "trademark" shots that can be taken now.

SFDK's new park ambassador Captain Lee Munro shows off the Land, Sea, and Sky animals of the park.

Bug's and Daffy in their Safari Gear.

Sky Portal. Notice how the colors match V2's new paint job? It makes a bit more sense now, and actually looks really good in person.

New Justice League meet and greet down by the lake front.

One of the Land Portal signs gets some last minute paint details and landscaping.

This is the Land Portal near the bottom entrance to Dolphin Harbor. Notice how friggin big the signs/statues are.

The dolphin show was re-themed and revamped this year. Here are some random shots from "Merlin's Island Party"

The dolphin limbo bit was cute.

Merlin takes flight.

SFDK's new Cold Stone takes over the old Dippin Dot's store by Hamerhead Shark.

Future home to Nintendo's Wii hut.

One of the two Sea Portal signs.

The other side of the sign over by Monsoon Falls.

Sea Portal entrance #2 over by Shark.

Shark's new signage/sculpture getting paint.

Yet another photo to show you the scale of all the new theming and sign work.