Crazy to Visit in August '14?

I used to be a resident of southern California, but I live in Oregon now and have for the last 15 years, so I'm quite out of the loop about crowds at Disneyland. I do, however, try my best to get down there every year as long as it's feasible. I went earlier in the summer the last two years in June (near the end of the month) and July (the three days before the 4th in 2013), which--as I'm sure you Disney goers know--was pretty crowded. It wasn't horrible, but it was definitely packed and we had a lot of fun regardless.

However, I am trying to make up my mind about whether or not I want to go in August or September. Really, the only issue here is that I don't know how much longer I can wait, but I've been to Disneyland at all times of the years and I've never truly thought that it was TOO busy to the point where I thought I wanted to go home.

So, I was taking a look at things like school start dates and Annual Passholder blockout lift dates for this year as well as the previous years. Each year from 2012-2013, the week of August 12-14, Tuesday through Thursday-ish were "Hey, it's Alright" according to the Crowd Forecast.

This year, they're predicting the same week will be "alright" as well. Do you guys think that this is a reasonable assumption to go by, that the same week will be "alright" according to the last two years or are those just entirely off?

I just want to know if it would be okay to go in August or if I'm just being highly impatient as I am in desperate need of a vacation. Is mid-August any worse than June/July or is there even any difference?
    Last edited by pure supercool; 04-25-2014 at 10:28 PM.

• Under that tree again!

Re: Crazy to Visit in August '14?

Midweek in June, or July is about like midweek in the middle of August. If you wait until the 3rd week there is a noticeable drop in crowds. The 4th week is nearly low crowds but rehabs wills start then too as that is the shoulder season.