Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Pinch me! I actually tgoing to Japan & Tokyo Disney. Carmen's Trip Report - May 2012

Yes, pinch me. Remind me again that it is actually true.

I cannot believe that we are only a few days away from my first trip to Japan and visiting the Tokyo Disney Resort. My partner George and I have been talking about this trip for what seems like forever and now it is just around the corner. My excitement has gotten to the point that I didn't even want to wait to start a trip report so here I go. Plus I figure it will help if I can make any comments while we are traveling having the thread already going.

First off I must thank everyone on this board who has answered questions and helped with my research and planning. Like many others, the thought of planning a trip to Japan can be initially overwhelming but with everyone's help and awesome trip reports (Thank you Joe!) it has made it fun and easier. Working in the travel industry I have some insight and background to traveling internationally but I have never traveled to Asia before. Being able to read the reports and gain input from everyone has been super valuable.

Plans became finalized last September when I bought tickets to Tokyo on Singapore Air. That really set the ball rolling. I wanted to experience an Asian carrier to fly to Japan and I found a great deal on the non-stop from LAX. Since we live in Tampa, FL I worked on getting flights to the west coast to start the trip. George had not flown internationally since he was in Japan in the service a good 30+ years ago. He was a little concerned about a "real long" flight so we thought breaking up the trip in LA for a night would help. With that said here is the basic plan for the trip.

May 6 - Tampa to LA
    May 7 - LA to Tokyo via Singapore Air
    May 8 - arrive Tokyo
    May 9 - Tokyo sightseeing with guide from Tokyo Free Guide (Asakusa, Imperial Palace, Sumida River cruise)
    May 10 - Hakone National Park circuit via Hakone Free Pass