Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Sad A Sort-of Theme Park Sophie's Choice - to go or not to go to TDR during the holidays

I've long dreamed of going to Japan, and this year it's quite nearly within reach.

Unfortunately due to numerous commitments (and that fact that I'm a teacher), the only time I have to go will be Dec. 29 to Jan. 5, which might was well be just as bad as the Golden Week. Well maybe not. The light days according to the calendar are Dec. 31 and Jan. 1 at a mere 98 & 86 % capacity.

There will be some reprieve on Jan. 5, but that's the day the Mansion and Splash will close. Two of my favorite rides, which I haven't been on in ten years.

Will it be even possible to enjoy the parks on these days? Would it be better to not go? Perhaps Osaka instead with Harry Potter, arguably bringing in similar crowds, which at least we will all be just jostling over one ride?

Re: A Sort-of Theme Park Sophie's Choice - to go or not to go to TDR during the holid

That's odd. I went a few years ago and the park didn't seem overly crowded in December.

Re: A Sort-of Theme Park Sophie's Choice - to go or not to go to TDR during the holid

I suppose you went earlier in December?

I plan to be in Japan Dec. 29-Jan. 5 which is smack in the middle of the winter break, and unfortunately the predicted crowds are as shown below.

I know MiceChatters are smart people when it comes to planning, so they would naturally avoid these peak dates. However, given that this will be a major reason to go to Japan, and I've been dying to go to Japan, I wonder if it will still be worth it and if anyone has had experience navigating the park on days like these.

Name:  TDR Dec 2014.jpg
Views: 288
Size:  115.4 KB

Your crowd calendar looks different than this one, which goes by # of anticipated visitors, not percentages. The 31st and 1st do not look awful.

ディズニーランド ディズニーシー 混雑予想カレンダー

My Japanese is rusty, so I'm having trouble figuring out the link you shared, shelemm.