Page 1 of 7 1234 ... LastLast

• Circle of Ancients

Blog Entries

Cool Tokyo DL's evolution since the 1980s

Just curious... How has Tokyo Disneyland evolved over the years since it's opening? Not just in the attractions roster, but in the sense of the culture of the place.

And are there any TDL attractions that were designed but never executed? Any lands that never were?

• Circle of Ancients

Blog Entries

Re: Tokyo DL's evolution since the 1980s

No takers?

• Banned User

Joe will be here shortly to answer. I am on my way to TDL this morning (the 17th) but it's snowing in Tokyo this morning and that should be interesting.. It's supposed to stop by mid morning and get sunny and cold... Brrr..

I have been visiting the park since 1988 and can only testify to what I have seen since then... but do not have time as I am running out my hotel's door to go to the park for a couple of hours.

Later dude.

• Banned User

Hello from Hong Kong.

To answer your question.. the only attraction that was announced for TDL but never built was the Matterhorn. In the TDL 5th anniversary press kit back in 1988, it was announced that the Matterhorn would be built at TDL... but it never happened.

As for cultural stuff... well, I am not quite sure I understand exactly what you are asking for... but we have discussed the guests' behaviors at the park as one of purely cultural manner.

One thing that many old timers at TDL mention is that japanese CMs used to play face roles of some of the western characters...like Cinderella or Snow White. Since I have been visiting TDL, I personally have never seen a japanese CM playing the part of a Disney princess/prince except when it comes to Mulan. However, recently in the "Cinderellabration" show, Charming's father (the KING), was being played by a japanese CM. Kind of odd...

• Circle of Ancients

Blog Entries

Interesting tidbits, thanks TDLFAN.

I'm kind of glad the Matterhorn is one-of-a-kind at Anaheim.

• Banned User