Thread: Duffy

Duffy

I'm a newbie around here with only two trips to the Tokyo Disney Resort. And right now I have only one question:

What is up with "Duffy the Disney Bear - The Bear of Happiness and Luck"?

The Cape Cod area at DisneySea has signage that says "Cape Cod, home of Duffy the Bear" as if that's the real reason the area was built. All the cool stuff from the store has been replaced with enough outfits for plush Duffies to make An American Girl pout in jealousy. And when the character walked onstage I was nearly crushed by more girls in school uniforms than you see on a week long Cartoon Network Annime marathon.

Did this start out as a merchandise ploy or just end up as one? I've heard Duffy was a special Christmas character and "caught on". Is the character actually that well known in Japan, or is this some version of 'Dole Whip Mania' among that fanbase?

P.S. I'm also afraid Disney will try to do something like that in the U.S., but to cover all the franchises we'll get 'Duffia - Princess of the Fairy Pooh Bears' starring in a High School Musical.

• Lady & The Tramp

Re: Duffy

Haha what a funny name, I dont think Disney is going to come out with anything ridiculous like that. At least I hope not.

• Shubisha

I think Duffy has existed at WDW, purely as merchandise and not as widespread. But I could be mistaken there.

• The Darkness to Light

No, you are correct. Duffy was (and still is, but under a different design) at WDW under the name of "The Disney Bear." The product was aimed at the three-and-under crowd from the selection I've seen, with very slim pickings for collectors.

Duffy didn't really start out as a Christmas character. In fact, I think the first time I saw photos of Duffy, he was in a sailors outfit not to dissimilar to Donald's. The story is that Duffy was a gift from Minnie to Mickey before a boating venture, but how he came to life is anyone's guess at this point. Maybe Joe (*ahem*) or TDLFAN could fill in the blanks.