Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

2 Travel Questions: Pop Century Versus Port Orleans in terms of noise and??

Hi all!

My other half and I are planning on heading to WDW for my birthday in mid-August. I've only been a handful of times, but I'm a Disneyland veteran and well-read on most Disney aspects...but I do have a couple questions that I would greatly appreciate your input on!

1) Pop Century vs. Port Orleans
    I've never stayed on property and would like to give it a try. If finances weren't an option, I'd be looking at AK Lodge or the Wilderness Lodge....but reality says that's not an option. So, instead I'm looking at Port Orleans versus Pop Century. For me, I'm the type that spends almost all my time inside the parks--I get in early and stay till close....I'm not one to go back and hang at a hotel during the day. That said, we are two adults without children and I know from experience that the hustle and bustle and strollers and crowds do tend to get to us by the end of the day (no disrespect intended towards kids or families--its just the reality that we are not accustomed to it and it wears us out quickly). So, I'm looking at Pop Century and thinking, "wow--I can stay here for a lot less than at Port Orleans" while my other half is saying, "but won't it be louder and more chaotic at Pop Century?" So I ask those of you--is Port Orleans more serene and sedate--and most importantly, more quiet once you are in your room and ready to sleep? If so, it's worth the cost, but if it's about the same....I'd go for the cheaper Pop Century. In both cases we have to take buses as transportation...but perhaps there are other differences I haven't thought of?

2) Universal First, Disney after?
    I've never been to Universal, and I'd really like to go this year...the devil is in the details! Does Universal have transportation from the airport? Does Universal have transportation to Disney?