Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Retro First Trip to WDW: 1986

I'm relatively new to MiceChat, and I'm more active on the HKDL side of things, but I do lurk in these waters every so often.

I'm from Manila, so HK is my turf, and I live vicariously through your Trip Reports and whatever news you guys have.

I've been wanting to share something with everyone, but my last trip to DL was in 2004, I doubted that would be of much interest to most. However, recent discussions on Figment and Dreamfinder prompted me to dig out our pictures from my first visit to WDW.

Now the pictures are very touristy, and the fashions are very subdued Eighties. I was four years old back then, and I didn't really remember much so this is less of a reliable trip report but more of the way I saw it - a kid's first taste of America.

1986 was a big year for me. The Challenger disaster remains to be the first bit of international news that I remember from my childhood. In February, my paternal grandfather died and I gained my first concept of mortality. The following week the People Power Revolution ousted the Marcoses, Imelda's shoes became part of world history.

Maybe just as important, was the fact that my dad was given a scholarship by the US Embassy for a seminar in Chicago or Washington.

I wasn't terribly excited because I didn't understand the concept of the world as whole at the point. I thought the US was a hop, a skip, and a jump away.

Our first stop was in Taipei, and I have no memory of what that place looked like. I guess I slept through most of the flight. The next stop over was Narita, which was in this place called Pinocchio, Japan. Later after our trip, I told my parents that I swore I saw Pinocchio's face painted on the side of the airport in Japan.