Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

• Banned User

What is your opinion of Michael Eisner and his legacy for WDW?

I'm a grad student in marketing and Disney comes up a lot in our classes (along with Coke and other longstanding brands). Today in one of my classes we were having a discussion about really terrible CEOs and the damages they do to brands when they let egos get in the way. One lady in my class went on about Michael Eisner for a while and how he made a lot of terribel decisions for WDW.

I thought I would post a question here and ask what others thought of Michael Eisner and what they think of his legacy.

Personally, I was a kid in the 90s and I remember on ABC there were a lot of Disney specials on Sunday nights and Michael Eisner always introduced them -- I thought he had a giant ego to do that. It always seemed to me like he was pushing and shoving to get in front of the camera. There were times when Mickey and Minnie would be with him and he'd almost shove Mickey down to get in front. I never liked him because I don't like self-promoters.

I've heard through the years that he was responsible for a lot of the weird choices that Disney made during his reign...like the Swan and Dolphin hotels that are too tall and destroy sightlines to attractions. I also heard that he was responsible for killing the Beastly Kingdom at AK. I actually remember being so excited for a park where real, extinct, and imaginary animals could be see all at once...and I heard later that Eisner was who killed a lot of great ideas there. I've also heard he was responsible for HS and how badly it turned out...and for Euro Disney which was a mini disaster.

Did Eisner do anything right?

Does anyone know any good articles or books I could read about him and his time at Disney?

It would be really helpful to me if you voice your opinions on this because I am sure we'll talk about him in classes again and I want to have something intelligent to say.

• Minion