Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Member of LGBT working at Disney {Dresscode Question}

Hello, everyone. This is my first time posting on Micechat so hopefully I'm posting in the correct thread.

My dream job someday is to work at the Haunted Mansion at Walt Disney World in Orlando, Florida. I wondered, however, what the policy is on Disney's dress code. I am a girl, which means I would be put in the outfit of a maid, but is it possible to be the butler even though I'm a girl? I am a member of the LGBT community and I prefer male clothing, but I wasn't sure if the dress code was strict in terms of gender roles. I do not intend to be flaunting my beliefs and/or making those against the LGBT community uncomfortable, but it is something I worry about should I be accepted into working at the Haunted Mansion. I completely understand if Disney's policies are that genders have specific dress codes, but I thought I would try and ask anyway.

• formerly very helpful

Re: Member of LGBT working at Disney {Dresscode Question}

I would think that they would have men in men uniforms and women in women uniforms. I would try to think of it as simply the costume for the show you're in, and not really representative of your own personal preference.

Disney is very "in tune" with the LGBT community, but I believe you will be requested to use the costume according to gender. It's nothing against you. There's a lot of people who are cast members and absolutely hate their costumes as well. If it makes you feel better, you can probably get away wearing pants underneath your dress.
    DisneyTwins
    Since May 2003

Darn. That's such a bummer. Unfortunately I would feel too uncomfortable to be a maid. Thanks for the replies, guys.

• i believe in faeries.